The following table shows the nominees and winners of the Coach of the Year award for Super League (1996 onward), and for the Championship (until 1996). Where available, nominees are shown in alphabetical order.

This table is currently incomplete so please feel free to provide any amendments or additions.

Year Winner Nominees
2005 Tony Smith (Leeds Rhinos) John Kear (Hull FC)
Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls)
2004 Shane McNally (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats) Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls)
Tony Smith (Leeds Rhinos)
2003 Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls) Paul Cullen (Warrington Wolves)
Mike Gregory* (Wigan Warriors)
Tony Rea (London Broncos)
2002 Neil Kelly (Widnes Vikings) Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls)
Stuart Raper (Wigan Warriors)
2001 Ian Millward (St. Helens) Shaun McRae (Hull FC)
Brian Noble (Bradford Bulls)
2000 Frank Endacott (Wigan Warriors) Matthew Elliot (Bradford Bulls)
Ian Millward (St. Helens)
1999 Matthew Elliot (Bradford Bulls) Graham Murray (Leeds Rhinos)
Stuart Raper (Castleford Tigers)
1998 John Pendlebury (Halifax Blue Sox)
1997 Matthew Elliot (Bradford Bulls)
1996 Shaun McRae (St. Helens)
1993 John Monie (Wigan)
1992 John Monie (Wigan)
1991 John Monie (Wigan)
1990 John Monie (Wigan)


  • "The panel also felt the need to add a fourth nomination to this [coach of the year] category, which went to Wigan Warriors' Mike Gregory"